FATA & KP News – Latest News from Fata & KP at Radio TNN

 Breaking News


Senate Election: PML-N backed independent candidates win 15 seats

Senate Election: PML-N backed independent candidates win 15 seats
March 04, 2018

ISLAMABAD/ PESHAWAR/ KARACHI/LAHORE/QUETTA: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz backed independent candidates have bagged 15 Senate seats across the country, according to unofficial results, as more results are expected to come.

In Punjab, PML-N-backed independent candidates secured 11 of 12 seats from the Punjab Assembly and also bagged another two seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

Those who have won the election from Punjab are Ishaq Dar on technocrat seat, Asif Kirmani, independent candidate Haroon Akhtar on general seat, Sadia Abbasi, Nuzhat Sadiq on woman seat, PML-N-backed Kamran Michael on minority seat, Hafiz Abdul Kareem on technocrat seat, Maqbool Ahmed, Musadik Malik, Zubair Gul, Rana Mehmoodul Hassan and PTI candidate Chaudhry Sarwar has been elected on general seat.

Four candidates have won senate election from Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) where results were the first to come out. According to unofficial results, Hidayatullah, Hilalur Rahman Shamim Afridi, Mirza Muhammad Afridi have won election from Fata from where 25 candidates were contesting on four Senate seats.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement is said to be the worst affected, for none of its candidates have won the election. The results said that PPP has won 10 seats from Sindh. This is considered to be the biggest upset in the election as PPP was supposed to win eight seats. It has also won one seat from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa as Robina Khalid has been elected as senator from KP. PTI’s Mehr Taj Roghani secured the women seat from KP.

Among the successful candidates are Raza Rabbani, Maula Bux Chandio, Mohd Ali Shah Jamot, Dr Sikander Mengro won the technocrat seat while Anwar Lal Dean won the seat for minorities from Sindh.

In Balochistan, 23 candidates for 11 seats of Balochistan province contested the polls for upper house of parliament where JUI-F Maulvi Faiz Muhammad, Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani, Anwarul Haq, Ahmed Khan and Muhammad Yousaf Khan Kakar, Muhammad Akram, Kauda Babar are elected as senators.

In Sindh PPP candidate Anwar Lal is elected on Minority seat, Krishna Kohli on woman seat, Sikandar Mandhro elected on technocrat seat, Raza Rabbani, Maula Bux Chandio, Mustafa Nawaz, Imam Din.

Polling in all four provincial assemblies and the parliament started at 9am and continued until 4 without a halt. Candidates of ruling PML-N contested the polls as independent candidates after top court ruled earlier this year that all tickets issued to candidates for Senate elections by disqualified Nawaz Sharif were annulled.




Related Articles


Fata Reforms


  • Absenteeism of teachers, damaged buildings make 900 schools non-functional in FATA

    In tribal areas of Pakistan, more than 800 schools have been closed or still remained non-functional due to poor law and order situation in the region. A large number of schools were either damaged or destroyed by Taliban when they were in control of major parts of FATA.  Since majority of displaced populations have returned […]

  • Returnees and displaced families from FATA seek food security

    Hundreds of displaced families from North and South Waziristan and Khyber Agency are still living a displaced life. However, the IDPs and repatriated from Fata have claimed that government was, seemingly, least interested to facilitate and provide food to the terrorism-affected tribal people.

  • Political parties running campaigns to increase vote bank among repatriated people of FATA

    Political hustle and bustle have been gaining vigor at the in the areas of return in FATA with public gatherings being organized at hujras and local offices of political parties ahead of forthcoming general elections.During 2013 general elections thousands of families from different agencies of Fata were living in camps and with relatives due to military operations.


March 2018
« Feb